Standards Summit


The IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA) is a leading consensus building organization that nurtures, develops and advances global technologies, within IEEE. IEEE-SA brings together many individuals and organizations from a wide range of technical and geographic points of origin to facilitate standards development and standards related collaboration. With collaborative thought leaders in more than 160 countries, IEEE and its standards unit promotes innovation, enables the creation and expansion of international markets and helps protect health and public safety. Collectively, IEEE-SA’s work drives the functionality, capabilities and interoperability of a wide range of products and services that transform the way people live, work and communicate. There is participation from Turkey in IEEE-SA activities, and there is room to grow. Via the IEEE Standards Istanbul Summit, we will provide a platform for the technology professionals, innovators, and researchers from the industry and academic community to collaborate and exchange ideas about IEEE standards.

The IEEE Standards Summit Istanbul will be held in Istanbul Medipol University and co-sponsored by IEEE Standards Association and IEEE Turkey Section.

The major topics of the summit are:

    • IEEE Standards Association
    • IEEE and European Regulations
    • IEEE Telecommunication Standards
    • IEEE 802.11 and 5G
    • IEEE Biomedical Standards
    • How to Join Standards

Registration to the summit is free though IEEE Vtools.

Confirmed Speakers

Dr. Dorothy Stanley
IEEE 802.11 WG Chair

Dr. Herman Brand
IEEE Europe Director

Dr. Almir Badnjevic
IEEE Medical Dev with Measuring Func WG Chair

Martin Kasparick
TU Rostock

Metin Taskin
Founder and CTO Airties

Dr. Ali Gorcin
Tubitak Bilgem Vice-Chair

Ramazan Yilmaz
ICTA Tech Regulations Director

Dr. Baki Karaboce
Tubitak UME

Kirstin Ozturk

Senay Mihcin
Katip Celebi University

Numan Kemal Saydam

Onur Karmis
Project Team Lead – TREDAS

Dr. Sinem Coleri Ergen
Koc University

Alper Yegin

Selim Balcisoy
Sabanci University

Mehmet Kemal Ozdemir
Istanbul Medipol University

Prof. Dr. Murat Uysal
IEEE Turkey Chair

Akif Sesli
TSE Standardization Chair

Organizing Committee

Dr. Tuncer Baykas
Istanbul Medipol University

David Law

Moira Patterson

Dr. Ilker Kose
Medipol University, TURKEY